A Goal. Two, Actually

According to my little running log, I have been running consistently, and consistently increasing the time/mileage of my runs, for five weeks now. In addition to being slightly dependent on lists and logs (I’ll just go ahead and admit it: I find great pleasure in a neatly organized excel spreadsheet), I also absolutely require short-term goals to keep me going. Running with no end game? Not gonna work, at least not until I’m addicted to it.

So, with that in mind, I went ahead and registered for two “short-term goals”: a 6k (in less than two weeks!) and a half marathon at the end of October.

Did I just write “half marathon”? I did. I actually spent money to be allowed to run 13.1 miles of downtown Saint Louis. There must be something wrong with my brain.

But whether I am or am not actually nuts, it’s done. I have a short short-term goal and a longer short-term goal, and a-running I will go.

Did I mention I’ve never ever run a race before? No? Well, I haven’t. I’m blaming it all on a good friend of mine who insisted on starting to train for this half marathon only three months after birthing her second child. Since my youngest is nearly 18 months old, she basically made me feel like a compelte slacker. It’s good to have friends.

Leave a Reply

