The Veggie Box

Snacks.

Snacks. Snacks. Snacks.

I understand that babies and toddlers and preschoolers have tiny little stomachs and burn incredible amounts of energy, but sometimes I wonder how in the world it can by physically possible for them to actually be hungry the number of times they ask for a snack throughout the day! Am I feeding them the wrong foods? Do they have hollow legs in which they are storing all of this for later? We don’t have a dog, so I know that’s not it.

In addition, I work from home and have to spend at least a few hours a day in front of my computer. Invariably, without fail, beyond the shadow of a doubt, as soon as I sit down and attempt to accomplish something, someone in my house suddenly realizes he or she is wasting away from lack of nutrients.

Enter: The Veggie Box

IMG_0109

Simple. Simple. Simple. It’s a fast, easy, convenient, nutritious way to meet the snack demand. It’s just as easy as handing them a granola bar or a cereal bar or a snack cake, and it’s not as messy as applesauce or yogurt (a couple of our other go-to snacks).

Any time I go to the store or the farmers’ market, I make sure we have finger-food veggies, and as soon as I get home, I wash and chop everything up and toss it in the veggie box. My litlest peanut is a big fan of sugar snap peas. My little butterfly back there? Her favorite are baby carrots.

IMG_0118

And my oldest could eat a whole quart of grape tomatoes by herself. In one sitting. Yep, I actually have to cut my children off from vegetables some times.

IMG_0116

We mix in other veggies also, especially sweet bell peppers of all colors (except green) and cucumbers. I’ve tried raw broccoli and cauliflower before, but they are clearly not a favorite.

This happens to be a Lock & Lock box, which I like because it seals tight and the little “stay fresh tray” in the bottom keeps the veggies from sitting in any water and I think it really does keep them crisp longer. But any box will do!

And if you think there’s no way your kids would snack out of a veggie box, give it a try! I promise they absolutely will not starve if they choose not to eat a snack between breakfast and lunch, or between after school and dinner, and if you just leave a veggie box out on the table for them as their option, their curiosity just might get the better of them.

Make nourishing your family a little easier!

2 thoughts on “The Veggie Box

Leave a Reply

