DIY Headbands

DIY: Cute and Easy Headbands

My daughters are well skilled in the art of accessorizing.

Accessories

And headbands are all the rage right now, both for kids and adults. There are a million and one adorable headband tutorials out on the web, and we’ve used many of them, but that won’t stop me from making it a million and two.

These are quick and easy no-sew headbands using ponytail bands and various ribbons. If you have a ribbon scrap stash, now is a great time to haul it out.

I made these a no-sew version because my sewing machine was buried and I was feeling impatient, but if your sewing machine is accessible, you could just as easily stitch the ribbon ends where I used the hemming tape.

So here’s the inspiration: these neat Anthropologie headbands that have the thin elastic around the bottom, and cost about $30 each.

AnthroHeadpandsImages from anthropologie.com, November 2011

The look and total cost of your headband will depend entirely on the type of ribbon you choose – this is a true “endless possibilities” project.

IMG_0452

First you need a box of thin stretchy ponytail holders. You’ll need two for each headband.

Take two bands and connect them together into a figure eight. I really don’t know how to explain this, but my 4-year-old figured it out after one try, so I’m pretty sure you can do it. Just lay them one on top of the other overlapping,

IMG_0455

then pull the outer loop of one of each until they lock. Does that make any sense at all?

IMG_0456

Now, cut a length of ribbon about 18 inches long. I found that this length makes a headband that fits both me and my daughters. If your ribbon has some stretch to it, you might want to shorten it by an inch or so (you can always wait to cut the length until after attaching one end to the ponytail bands, and do a quick measure on a model head).

Grab your bonding web tape (something like this stuff),

IMG_0457

and cut a piece about half an inch long. Loop one end of your ribbon through one end of your ponytail bands and fold the ribbon back over on its wrong side about half an inch, placing the bonding tape in between.

IMG_0458

Make sure the end of the ribbon is on the top end of the bonding tape to keep the ribbon from fraying.

Follow the ironing directions on the package to seal the bond. Repeat with the other side, and you’re done!

IMG_0461

IMG_0460

We made half a dozen in about 15 minutes.

A flower version…

IMG_0464

A pink sparkly version…

IMG_0468

IMG_0471

And I just noticed that I was wearing one of my favorites on our hike last week.

If your ribbon is wider than about an inch, you’ll want to taper the ends by folding both edges in toward the middle so that the headband lies flat and retains it’s stretch. One of my ribbons was quite wide (about 2 inches) and also had no give at all in it, so I ended up adding a third ponytail band before attaching the ribbon, which made it stretchy enough to get over my head and be comfortable.

These headbands would make fun and simple DIY gifts or stocking stuffers for Christmas, either for a little fashionista in your life, or from one! My preschoolers helped me make the ponytail band figure eights and choose and cut the ribbons (I did the ironing). You could also use up some fabric scraps by sewing fabric tubes instead of using ribbon!

I guess you could go crazy and use really expensive ribbon or trim, but we used up materials we had on hand (even the ponytail bands) so this batch of headbands was a free bonus. Even if I went out and bought all the ribbon specifically for this project, I could easily make each headband for a couple dollars, max.

And now, as a bonus, I’m going to show you the absolutely easiest ever, no-sew, no-iron, no-equipment needed headband.

1) Get a scrap of jersey material about 4 to 6 inches wide and about 18 – 24 inches long.

2) Tie the ends together in a knot.

Ta-da!

IMG_0447

I even use this jersey headband for running – it stays put surprisingly well.

Go forth, craft and create, and leave happier,

Amber

Leave a Reply

