‘Tis the Season for Nostalgia

The kids and I helped my mom decorate her Christmas tree today.

First off, our cranberry cinnamon garland looked and smelled delicious, and the girls were really excited to see their creation up on the tree.

IMG_2908_70s

Second, I found these ducks.

IMG_2930

I’ve seen my mom’s Christmas tree some thirty Christmases, and helped to decorate it at least twenty times. I have never seen these ducks before, and I love them.

IMG_2933

There are six of them, mother of pearl in a metal frame. My mom said they came from a mobile that hung over my crib when I was a baby. I’m assuming this is true; my mom is not in the habit of making things up to see if I’ll cry. And I didn’t (cry), but it made my original glowing opinion of these cute ducks even… glowier. I really can’t explain why I like them so much. It must be the smell of cinnamon and the twinkling lights.

Maybe if we have another baby I’ll try to wrangle them away from her to recreate a mobile of some sort. Until then I’ll try to refrain from ducknapping. ‘Tis not the season for ducknapping.

Leave a Reply

