DIY: Knit Pin-Weave Stocking

This is not so much a tutorial as it is a victory post, because there were about 49 different points at which I was pretty sure this project was not going to work. But in the end, I kind of love it, and it all started with a contest, a hula hoop and a sparkly Ann Taylor shirt.

A few weeks ago I saw a tutorial for weaving a circle rug out of t-shirt strips using a hula hoop as a loom. I pinned it, thinking it would be a good project for my girls and their new room if we ever buy a house.

Also a few weeks ago, I picked up a silver sparkly top at a thrift store because it was cheap, it was Ann Taylor, and it still had the tags on it. I thought it might be a good holiday season shirt, but the reality of said shirt did not in any way live up to my hopes for it. Of course, I did not admit this in time to return it, so it went in the craft pile.

Also a few weeks ago, Prudent Baby announced a contest: make a stocking incorporating knit material and maybe, just maybe, win a serger.

Those three things swam around together in my brain and resulted in me thinking it would be a great idea to use strips of jersey knit t-shirts to weave the front of a stocking for the contest. So I printed out Prudent Baby’s stocking pattern, read up quickly on pin weaving, put my kids to bed, and went to work.

I traced the stocking onto a piece of sewable adhesive bond and then taped the adhesive sheet onto a piece of flat cardboard.

IMG_3072

Then I took my sparkly silver/grey knit top and cut the back into long strips. I did not measure, or draw, or use a ruler. I eyeballed the width of the strips and cut them free hand. You can get away with this with a jersey knit because once the strip is cut out, you just tug on each end and it springs back into a tube so you can’t see the rough edges so much.

IMG_3074

Once I had the vertical lines pinned down to the cardboard, I started weaving the horizontal strips.

IMG_3077

I also had a green t-shirt in the craft pile (nice fabric, but stained on the front) and I though it would be really neeto to weave a Christmas tree into the stocking. I cut out a triangle pattern the correct size, then cut a whole bunch of green strips to fill up the shape.

IMG_3078

I sewed a grey strip to either end of each green strip. This would have been a lot cleaner and easier with a serger (tap tap… Prudent Baby… are you listening?) but I muddled through with my zig-zag stitch.

IMG_3084
See how not even those strips are? Doesn’t matter, because it doesn’t show. Sometimes you have to craft smarter.

Weaving, weaving a Christmas tree…

IMG_3085

I finished it off with more solid grey strips and wouldn’t you know, it actually pretty much looked like a tree! (I’m really sorry about the  hideous light in these pictures. Sometimes midnight crafting is the only option.)

IMG_3087

I followed the adhesive bond instructions to iron the woven knits down to the adhesive sheet before removing the pins. Then I flipped it over and bonded a solid green piece to the back for the inside lining of the front of the stocking. Place the stocking pattern over the weave and cut it out! The woven ends are adhered with the sewable bond so they don’t come unravelled.

After that I sewed on the back (plain grey/silver sparkly knit) and hanger (more green knit) and decorated my tree. (If you need directions for how to put together a stocking, try this post.)

IMG_3140

My 3-year-old said it is her favorite stocking that I have ever made. I declined to remind her that it is the only stocking I have ever made. When I started, I really had no idea if it was possible to pin-weave stretchy knits or how it would turn out, but my unwearable sparkly top was definitely upcycled.

IMG_3135

Now, what else can I pin weave…

Leave a Reply

