The Christmas Spirit

The Cheap Sally contest was a great opportunity, but participating in it kind of high-jacked my Christmas preparation time. I feel like there was some kind of time warp and I lost all the days between December 1 and now, and all of a sudden it’s Christmas Eve! Yikes.

If you’re like me and you need a serious boost of Christmas Spirit in no time at all, I have a few suggestions. I plan on doing all of these today.

Watch Elf

Funniest Christmas movie ever. If you’re a “Miracle on 34th Street” kind of person I guess that would work as well, but I have to admit something here: I’ve never seen it. I have no idea why. I just haven’t. But I have seen Elf and it’s all kinds of fun.

Decorate Christmas Cookies

This activity is even Christmas-y-er if you can round up a group of little elves to help you, assuming you can handle the idea of the imperfectly decorated Christmas cookie.

IMG_3494

Just be prepared. Wrap your table in waxed paper before you get started so there’s no mess anxiety to dampen the decorating fun.

IMG_3489

Break Out The Christmas Music

I am not talking about the kind of Christmas music that bores into your brain like an earwig, driving you to the brink of insanity long after the twelve days of Christmas have come and gone. That is the opposite of Christmas Spirit. We need Christmas music with a seriously high beauty quotient, like this:

Take In The Lights

Bundle up, pour yourself a mug of something steamy, and go take in the lights. It helps if you put on your rose-colored glasses and allow yourself to be dazzled by the bright, shiny, sparkliness of it all.

IMG_3398

If you’re having trouble with that, take some kids with you. No one can teach you how to be properly awed by Christmas lights like a little kid can.

IMG_3384

Count Your Blessings

It’s time to get out a piece of paper and make your own list, and don’t be afraid to check it twice, or three times, or as many as it takes to remind yourself of all the goodness around. I’ve just started mine, and it’s already a couple pages long, but I’ll give you the top ten or so.

1. Jesus
2. An extraordinary husband who also loves being a dad.
3. Babies. Toddlers. Kids. I don’t have any teenagers yet, but I think even they will make the list.
4. Music. Musical geniuses. Non-musical geniuses who try.
5. Clementines. Sweet Potatoes. Smoked Turkey. (And taste buds, for that matter. And growing up with a mom that cooked.)
6. Saints, recognized and unrecognized.
7. Family that takes you in.
8. Warm mittens.
9. People who forgive.
10. Waking up early and curling up in a recliner near the lit Christmas tree with a cup of tea and listening to the stillness of a house yet sleeping.
11. Mercy. Grace. People who look outside themselves, recognize the needs of others, and act.

Ok, that’s eleven, I should probably stop.

I don’t know about you, but my Christmas Eve is already looking a little happier.

Leave a Reply

