Books For A Toddler Boy

My little man was born with the car gene.

I know he didn’t get it from his dad, whose only thoughts about cars probably go something like, “Man, I bet my Camry will make it to 300,000 miles without having to do any unscheduled maintenance. What a great car.”

I know he didn’t learn it from his older sisters. There wasn’t a wheel to be found in the house when they still had sole charge of picking out toys.

But nevertheless, pretty much as soon as he could pick up a block, he was driving it around the floor making “vroom” sounds. He finds the train at the zoo infinitely more exciting than any of the animals. Of course, no self-respecting grandparent would let their grandson drive blocks around for long, so he now has a large collection of toy cars that occupy most of his waking hours.

IMG_3640

What my little man didn’t seem to have at first was any interest in books, which surprised me a little, because his two older sisters would sit around looking at books as soon as they were able to sit around.

But it turns out I just needed a little trial and error to find the right books to keep his attention, and many of them are books about things that go “vroom” (surprise). Here are his current favorites, in case you’re trying to get your little mover engaged in toddler literature.

Richard Scarry’s Cars and Trucks From A to Z

IMG_4075

Best $4 ever spent. We have several animal alphabet books and a baseball alphabet book, and my son couldn’t care less about any of them. But this alphabet book catches his attention almost every day. Sometimes he insists on climbing into his (barely bigger than him) sister’s lap to read it.

IMG_4084

Chugga Chugga Choo Choo by Kevin Lewis, Illustrated by Daniel Kirk

IMG_4091

Oh, how we love following this train around the track all throughout the “little engineer’s” room. The fact that you have to say “Choo choo” and “Whooo whoooo” every other page is a big bonus.

Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry

IMG_4104

This cute book comes with a nice life lesson and a LOT of animal and truck sounds.

IMG_4100

When my son wants to read it he pulls it off the shelf and comes running, yelling, “Beep beep! Beep beep! Beep beep!”

I’ve found that any book with a car, truck, or train as the main character is a good place to start, but it also definitely helps if the book has a good rhythm and requires the reader to make a lot of fun sounds. That is why several Sandra Boynton books are very popular in our house, particularly Moo Baa La La La, even though they aren’t transportation-centric.

I’m taking a little break from active searching for more books for my little man because he never gets tired of these. Some parents probably get annoyed after reading the same books over and over again, but I actually don’t mind. It means I now have them memorized, so I can read them with my eyes closed.

[Side Note: All links are to Amazon, but I don’t have an Amazon account that sends me kick backs. It’s just easy and convenient. Buy your books wherever you like.]

2 thoughts on “Books For A Toddler Boy

  1. Funny – my little guy just picked out Chugga Chugga Choo Choo at the library, all by himself. I’m pretty sure it was the first book ever that he picked out without any guidance (and perhaps even some discouragement) from me. We read it at bedtime last night, and he insisted on going to sleep holding his train engine. Too sweet.

    • Ha – we always have a car or train that gets tucked under the covers also! At first that book wasn’t my favorite because I was not allowed any slack on the animation of the “choo choo” and “whoo whooo” sounds, but now that we’ve read it a bunch one of the kids usually takes over for the sound effects. : )

Leave a Reply

