Project 365: Value The Little Things

Lately, I’ve been getting very weary of being busy. It seems like even if I carefully plan out every moment of the day, the to-do list is never as marked up as it should be by bed time, which is always later than I planned.

And I’ve noticed that some days when I sit down to upload and edit pictures at the end of the day, the pictures remind me of moments that happened just that day that I’ve already forgotten about, or didn’t take in at the time.

I’ve never done a 365 photography challenge before, where you commit to taking and editing a photo every day, mostly because it’s just one more thing I don’t have time for. But when Courtney from Click It Up A Notch announced she was starting a new Project 365 on November 1, it just clicked with me (ha, sorry): this is a great excuse to make sure I am taking notice of those little moments that are worth my time. So I’m jumping into my own Project 365 — “Value The Little Things” — because at the end of most days, the little things are what made the day.

Here’s my first pic: the toddler squat. I love (love) how this age easily and naturally does that crazy bottom-inches-above-the-floor squat to play.

IMG_6978

And maybe this project will actually improve my photography a bit also so I stop blowing out all my pictures. :)

4 thoughts on “Project 365: Value The Little Things

    • Thanks, Wendy! I’m hoping this 365 will help me with consistency a little. This was my favorite shot, but it was overexposed. The one that was exposed correctly was composed poorly. The one that was composed beautifully was out of focus. On and on and on… 364 tries to go! :)

  1. Unfortunately the busy days will be around as long as you have kids. The most valuable thing you can do is what you are doing, trying to focus on these little moments that count. The to-do list needs to be looked at in a different light as well. It’s not a list that you must get done by the end of the day, but rather a list that lets you dump all the things you’re thinking about needing done onto paper so you can let them out of your mind for the time being while you play with the kids. The thing will still be on the list when you have time to get it done and there’s no danger of forgetting it. only the danger of losing it under piles of beautifully colored love notes from your kids, and that’s a risk I would be willing to take.

    Love you,
    mOm

  2. I was just commenting today to my husband how much I love to watch little ones (esp our 13 month old) learn and discover. I think your photo captures that well! ^.^

Leave a Reply

