53/365: The Blue Nun and the Christmas Tree

When we told the kids it was time to decorate the Christmas tree, my middle daughter sprinted upstairs, and came back down a bit later with her blue Cinderella skirt on her head. She had decided that she should be a Blue Nun for Christmas tree decorating (not dressed in black like the nuns in The Sound of Music, she explained, because she doesn’t like black).

IMG_7672

Sometimes the anticipation gets to be so much that I wish I could fast-forward twenty years for a quick glimpse of who my kids have grown into. Then I remind myself that in twenty years I’m going to be wishing I could come back and enjoy more time with who my kids were as they grew, so I try to be patient and enjoy each day. And today was the day of The Blue Nun and The Christmas Tree. It was a good one.

Leave a Reply

